Depending on the Pre-Payment Rules set for your business, clients may be able to pre-pay a deposit during booking, or pre-pay for the full amount of the service and tip up front.
If the client contacts you to cancel their prepaid appointment, and a refund must be issued for their prepayment, the refund can be issued from the Schedule during the cancelation process.
Note: This option is only available on appointments booked and prepaid for by the client online. The option to Cancel & Refund will not be available on appointments booked using an existing prepaid service credit.
Canceling and Refunding a Pre-Paid Appointment
Navigate to your:
- Business Profile.
- Select Schedule.
- Locate the appointment you need to cancel.
- Select the appointment block to open the side menu.
- Select Edit to open the appointment details.
- Select Cancel Appointment.
- Add Cancelation Notes (optional). These are for internal use only and display in the Activity section of the Client's record.
- Check Cancelation email to client to send a Cancelation email. Deselect to not send one. The option to send will not be available if the Client doesn't have an email address on file.
- Select Cancel & Refund
- Select the Refund Method
- Selecting Credit Card will refund the payment back to the client's card that was charged.
- Enter the Refund Amount
- The refund amount can be any amount up to the total paid by the client
- Enter a Reason for the refund.
- This will appear on the receipt
- Select Process Refund
Notes:
- After selecting Process Refund, the refund amount entered will be processed immediately. If Credit Card was selected as the refund method, it may take up to 3-5 business days for the funds to be returned to the client.
- This applies to both partial and fully pre-paid appointments.
- When a refund is processed for a fully pre-paid appointment, the pre-paid credit associated with the appointment will be removed from the client's record automatically.
Canceling and Refunding a Pre-Paid Appointment with Multiple Receipts Attached
In some cases, there may be multiple receipts attached to a pre-paid appointment. This can occur if a client partially pre-pays for an appointment online, then pays the remainder through their client account. Or if the appointment is booked by the business with multiple pre-paid services or add-ons. To cancel and process a refund, first navigate to your:
- Business Profile.
- Select Schedule.
- Locate the appointment you need to cancel.
- Select the appointment block to open the side menu.
- Select Edit to open the appointment details.
- Select Cancel Appointment.
- Add Cancelation Notes (optional). These are for internal use only and display in the Activity section of the Client's record.
- Check Cancelation email to client to send a Cancelation email. Deselect to not send one. The option to send will not be available if the Client doesn't have an email address on file.
- Select Cancel & Refund
- Select the receipts that should be refunded
- Any associated pre-paid credits will be removed from the client's record as well after the refund has been processed
- Select the Refund Method
- Selecting Credit Card will refund the payment back to the client's card that was charged.
- Enter the Refund Amount
- The refund amount can be any amount up to the total paid by the client
- Enter a Reason for the refund.
- This will appear on the receipt
- Select Process Refund
View the Mobile App Directions here: Canceling a Pre-Paid Appointment (Mobile)