Depending on the Pre-Payment Rules set for your business, clients may be able to pre-pay a deposit, or pre-pay for the full amount of the service and tip up front.
If the client contacts you to cancel their prepaid appointment, you will have the option to Cancel & Refund the appointment, or to Cancel and provide a prepaid credit to the client.
Note: Cancel & Refund is only available for appointments the client booked and prepaid online. If the appointment was booked with an existing prepaid service credit, cancel it first, then issue the refund separately from the Sales tab in your account.
To Cancel a Prepaid appointment:
- Select Schedule.
- Locate the appointment you need to cancel.
- Select the appointment block to open the side menu.
- Select Edit to open the appointment details.
- Select Cancel Appointment or No Show.
- Add Cancelation Notes (optional). These are for internal use only and display in the Activity section of the Client's record.
- Check Cancelation email to client to send a Cancelation email. Deselect to not send one. The option to send will not be available if the Client doesn't have an email address on file.
-
To cancel without refunding the initial payment, select Cancel - No refund
- If the appointment was fully pre-paid, you can also choose how to handle the prepaid credit.
- Choosing Keep Credit will allow the client to use the credit again in the future.
- Choosing Remove Credit will remove the credit from the client's record so it cannot be used again in the future.
-
To cancel and refund the initial payment, select Cancel & Refund
- You can then select the refund amount, refund type, and enter the reason for the refund
- Prepaid credits are automatically removed during the Cancel & Refund process.
- Select Process Refund to cancel the appointment and refund the client's payment.
Notes:
- If refunding to a card, the refund may take 3-5 business days depending on the client's bank.
- These steps apply to both partial and fully pre-paid appointments. Appointments with a minimum deposit will not have an option to keep a prepaid credit.
- When a refund is processed for a fully pre-paid appointment, the pre-paid credit associated with the appointment will be removed from the client's record automatically.
In some cases, there may be multiple receipts attached to a pre-paid appointment. This can occur if a client partially pre-pays for an appointment online, then pays the remainder through their client account. Or if the appointment is booked by the business with multiple pre-paid services or add-ons.
View the Mobile App Directions here: Canceling a Pre-Paid Appointment (Mobile)