Memberships are intended to renew monthly to provide an expected monthly income from clients. However, memberships can be created to only charge once.
To do so, the option to Automatically renew membership every month when creating the membership will need to be disabled as shown in the example below:
With this option disabled, the client will be charged the initial price of the membership and will receive any credits available within it, however the membership will not renew. So the client will only be charged once. Allowing credits to rollover, is optional but with the options set above, the client will be able to use any credits for the full year.
Since the membership is not set up to renew automatically, members will need to sign up again online the following year, or they will need to be re-enrolled internally.
More information about creating memberships and enrolling clients can be found at the links below: