When a client's credit card fails to successfully renew their monthly Membership, the client's Membership is put into a billing error state. The Membership will remain in billing error until the business or the client updates the credit card information. No credits are issued when the Membership is in billing error.
Note the following:
If the Membership is removed from billing error before its next renewal date, the client will be charged immediately and the credit(s) for that month will be placed on their account. The client's Membership will continue to renew on the same day of the month, so they will be charged again on their normal renewal date. Any unused credits from the previous charge that are not set to roll-over will be removed at that time. For example, if a Membership is placed in billing error on June 15th, and the credit card is updated on July 1st, the client will be charged on July 1st, and again on July 15th. If the credits are not set to rollover, the client will have 15 days to redeem their June credits.
If the Membership is removed from billing error after the renewal date has passed, the Membership will start a new renewal period when the client renews their Membership.
At any point during billing error, the business can retry charging the credit card on file. To do so, navigate to your:
- Business Profile.
- Select Clients to open your list.
- Search for and select the Client to open their record.
- Under the Memberships tab, select Retry.
- If the renewal is unsuccessful, the Membership will remain in a billing error state until the credit card information is updated.