Memberships will follow the renewal rules that were added when they were initially created. However, there are some factors that may cause a Membership to cancel earlier than intended. If this happens to a Membership Client, here's the possible causes that you can check:
- The Client's payment method was declined.
- If there was a specific reason for the decline (ex: insufficient funds), then the Business and Client will be notified of that reason via email. You will also see this info in the Membership's tab of the Client's record.
- The Client's payment method has been removed.
- This can happen if the Client tries to change their Membership payment method on their own and fails to upload a new payment method. You will see that the Memberships tab of their client record does not list a payment method.
- This can also happen if the Business's credit card processing account has been disconnected.
- The Business is no longer on a paid subscription.
- All Memberships will automatically be cancelled when a Business cancels their subscription. You can upgrade to a paid subscription if needed by going to Settings > Plans & Billing.
- The Business's credit card processing account has been disconnected.
- A credit card processing account can be disconnected manually or accidentally. To confirm that your Business still has a credit card processing account connected, you can go to Settings > Credit Card Payments.
- The Membership itself has been cancelled.
- If you mark a Membership as inactive, then any Clients that were enrolled in that Membership will automatically have their Membership cancelled.
- If you activate the Membership again, you would need to reenroll each previous member.
- The Membership is set to stop auto renewing after "X" number of months, and the Client has reached that number.
- In the Memberships tab of the Client's record, the Membership will be listed in the Expired Memberships section with a note that says "Completed".
- If the Client would like to be in this Membership again, they would need to reenroll.
To fix a Client's Membership status, you can edit their payment method and / or retry their payment. Here's some instructions to help: